Ottawa Fringe Reviews: Prepping for Your Media Debut

Reviews: Mr. Fox, The Zoo Story

Two entirely different plays, two different protagonists, both getting media exposure, although perhaps not quite as planned.

Mr. Fox by Greg Landucci (Chipped Paint Productions, Vancouver): Interesting look at what it means to be a mascot. As someone in the media, I thoroughly enjoyed laughing it up at this hopeful commercial DJ. I may be in community-oriented media now, but I did start out in commercial radio. I found myself reflecting back to those days on my walk home. I loved the stereotypes here. Several of the characters were much like people I worked with. My station didn’t have a mascot, but it did pride itself on the local remote broadcasts and presence in the community. So some of the things that Landucci’s characters were saying, I’ve heard it all before. And I thought the script was pretty good. Not an ending I expected, and I have to admit I’m still waiting to know what did actually happen. I was a little surprised at how little movement there was in the show, though. There was a lot of ‘setting up the story’ in the beginning, so I was a little worried. But that resolved itself in the end. And Landucci’s main character was spot on.

The Zoo Story by Edward Albee (Erudite Theatre, Ottawa): A great production. I don’t want to say too much here as there is at least one twist in the show, and I don’t want to spoil it for anyone. This is one of those shows that you know something is going to happen, but you really don’t know what it is. And even if you think understand where something might be going, sometimes it’s not that at all. You can focus in on one thing, place great importance on a certain object or certain event, but sometimes it is something else complete different that happens. I really liked this show. Great characters, excellent staging and direction, and a story that drew me in right from the beginning.

Leave a Reply

