Life is Good.

For the couple of you who subscribe to my blog (insert smiley here), I just wanted to let you know that I have not deserted. I have just been inSAAAnely busy! What a fall. I haven’t been that busy in a long time.

For the most part, it’s all been about work. My organization, the Community Radio Fund of Canada, is going to be getting some funding soon. But a few things need to happen before that. One of those things was needing to submit a structural and operational plan to the CRTC in October. And that was no small feat. 13,000 words, one board retreat, many sets of eyes, and countless meetings later, we submitted a pretty solid document. Fortunately, it is being given a once-over, and we will have a chance to clarify any confusing areas and provide further details where necessary. Then, the plan will go public to the world, and anyone will be able to comment. I know, I know, people will be knocking down the doors to read a 45-page report and offer insight and feedback. I’m looking forward to seeing how it will be received.

Also work related, we had an annual general membership meeting last week, which involved writing even more, including an annual report and a speech. If you are interested, I’ve posted everything on the fund’s website.

new apartment sunriseFinally, I moved out of my tiny dark moldy Lowertown basement apartment on November 1! I now live in 11th floor splendor in Centretown. It is amazing. The air is a gazillion times better, I have light, I have an office, and I even have an entryway closet for coats and shoes. I also have wireless internet for the first time, which was a necessity considering I recently jumped on the iPhone bandwagon. I know a new one will be coming next summer, but I still love my iPhone 4. I am really amazed at what it can do, and I know I am not even close to scratching the surface of its potential. Next on my list is a new couch and maybe a MacBook Air. I’m a little leery of the 13-inch screen. We’ll see. I may still go for the MacBook Pro 17-inch screen. I’ll wait and see what 2011 has in store.

I’m going to have a few updates coming, hopefully soon. The only thing that might keep me from getting to them is the fact that in less than one week I will be going to visit my father and brothers for the first time in 25 years. It’s a little mind boggling when I think about it. But truly amazing.

Leave a Reply

