Good show, C/C Radio. Good Show!

Last week, people from all across the country appeared at the CRTC hearing for their review of the campus and community radio policies. From the joint presentation of national associations (NCRA, ARC du Canada, ARCQ) to small rural stations to those that are in Canada’s largest cities, it was truly an event. I was even happy with my own presentation from the Community Radio Fund of Canada.

I was truly beaming with pride as I listened to presentation after presentation. Everyone was unique, and had different perspectives and solutions, which was very important to this process. But what blew me away was the sense of a national community. Simply amazing. It really felt like we were a sector. We were strong, open, honest, well spoken, and we made an impression with the Commission. Our messages were clear. We were together while still being individuals. Again, simply amazing.

When I started working at the NCRA in 2002, we had 17 members and no real relationships with other associations. The attendance at the NCRA’s national conferences was quite small, and there was not a lot of communication between the organization and the members (although there were individual board directors who certainly kept the lines open). In these last 8 years working at the national level, I’ve seen a lot of changes and a huge growth. Sure, I played my part in that, but it cannot be attributed to any one individual. In fact, there are so many that have played a part in this growth, I can’t even count everyone. And that was evident in what I saw last week at the hearing. So cheers to us all! And here’s to hoping that when the decision comes out we will all be dancing in the streets!

Leave a Reply

