Ottawa Fringe Reviews: Fiery the Stories Fell

Reviews: Inferno Sonata, The Tricky Part, The Wedding Night

(The title of this blog post is a nod to a quote in Blade Runner, which I dreamt about last night — “Fiery the angels fell; deep thunder rolled around their shores; burning with the fires of Orc.”)

An interesting last day to my Fringe experience. I had intended on checking out a couple of other plays, but due to some other commitments, I didn’t make it. Luckily I made it to 3 shows, involving dinner with a new Fringe friend and hanging out with an old friend. One thing I remarked on to my old friend was how awesome it was to look back over the week and realize that this Fringe helped be chip away a bit at my outer shell. I realized that for the most part, I attended the Fringe by myself, and ended up talking to other Fringe attendees. This is not normal for me, as I have a tendency to not go out unless I have someone to hang out with. Starting this blog was also something the Fringe brought out in me. I didn’t want to go to all of these plays without the chance to reflect on how they affected me and what I thought about. One of the things that TJ Dawe mentioned in his play “Totem Figures” was about how some people read books and forget so much after they’ve finished. Even with favourite books that have had a major impact, people seem to only remember key people and important events. Some of these plays had a great impact, and I’m glad I took the opportunity to write these things down. And thanks to you for reading! It is a strange experience to know that other people are reading what I’ve written.

Inferno Sonata by Scott Sharplin (August Assembly, Edmonton): I thought this was a clever show. I must admit that I didn’t get some of the references as there is just a lot I haven’t read, and it has been ages since I read Faust, but I still enjoyed the writing in this show. It was pretty frenzied, much like the main character. Speaking of which, this was one of the few non-autobiographical shows that didn’t incorporate multiple characters, which added to the diversity of my Fringe experience. Great use of props and stage, as well as sound and lights. This was a show I was waiting to see all week, as it brings me back to some original theatre experiences I had in university. I enjoyed escaping into this world of alchemy for the afternoon.

The Tricky Part by Martin Moran (Hearts & Eyes Theatre Collective, Cape Town, South Africa): While dark at times, I found this to be an uplifting story, and one that was told quite well. As human beings, I think one of the hardest things we have to do is to forgive and move forward. I thought this play was quite brave in being open, honest, and so detailed with the telling of one man’s story in coming to terms with what happened to him. Peter Hayes delivers an intense performance, giving himself over to his character, Martin Moran, resulting in a heart-wrenching and beautiful play.

The Wedding Night by Nadine Thornhill (Silent “Quemb” Productions, Ottawa): This was a play full of wit. There was some really great writing in there, often quite funny. For the most part, the characters were strong and developed. I was just left hanging a bit on the story lines of two of the characters though, and was waiting to see what would happen to them. But it is easy to see why this show was voted best in venue. It was nice to wrap-up my Fringe experience with laughter and good friends.

2 thoughts on “Ottawa Fringe Reviews: Fiery the Stories Fell

  1. Hey, thanks for your honest and well-considered feedback on my show. Keep checkin’ out future Fringes!

    By the way, the Blade Runner quotation (one of my favourite films, by the way) is actually a reference to a William Blake poem. I’m afraid I don’t recall the title, though.

  2. Thanks for commenting, Scott! I really did enjoy the fringing this year, and can’t wait until next year.

    According to Wikipedia, it is a “deliberate misquote” of Blake’s “America: A Prophecy”. The line in the poem is “Fiery the angels rose, and as they rose deep thunder roll’d. Around their shores: indignant burning with the fires of Orc.” The poem can be found here: http://tiny.cc/auQns

Leave a Reply

