Thanks to CJAM for NCRC 2008

What a great week in Windsor! I just wanted to say my own thanks after Adam at CJAM emailed to the NCRA listservs:

“I just wanted to send a quick thank-you to those of you who made the trek to Windsor last week. It was a blur, but I had a blast seeing so many familiar and new faces. I hope you were able to enjoy your week, and that the conference satisfied your expectations. Jon and I will be dropping you a line looking for feedback in the coming weeks, and your input will be greatly appreciated. We’ll both be taking a much needed break this week, so don’t be alarmed if our correspondence is a bit delayed! Again, thanks for a week I won’t forget!”

Here’s what I wrote to the lists:

And a huge thanks to you and the CJAM crew for such a great conference, Adam! It was especially fun for me this year as my last six conferences have been as NCRA staff. It was great to be able to hang out and meet new people. It’s never an easy thing to host an NCRC, and the organizers never get to truly enjoy the conference, but please know that your efforts paid off for the rest of us with some great sessions, fantastic evening entertainment, and an environment that made it easy to learn, network, and have fun.

Also, for those who don’t know, the NCRA board arranged a special presentation/goodbye for me at the annual awards gala. I wanted to say thanks to Freya and Janet who both said some wonderful words, and thanks to the current directors as well as Chad [sorry I forgot you in the email!], John, Magnus, Janna, Rob, Kristin, and Kevin (I hope I haven’t left out anyone else, it’s hard to remember through all of the warm feelings and many tears!!) for presenting me a wonderful hand-made blanket. It really was such an amazing honour. I don’t remember exactly what I said, but I wanted to pass along the sentiment to you. I thanked all of the directors of the NCRA as well as all of the stations and individuals I’ve worked with over the past years. It has meant so much to me. During my time as national coordinator, I learned and have grown so much. I came to be the coordinator I was mostly because you all let me learn along the way. We are the sum of our experiences, and I am rich with many lessons learned, a long list of radio cohorts I admire and respect, and many wonderful long-lasting friendships. I also thanked community radio just for being what it is. How amazing is it that we have this accessible form of media that truly reflects so much of our local communities.

I hope I can make it next year for NCRC 2009 in Montreal! But if not, I’m so thankful to have had the chance to see many of you in Windsor.

Thanks to the NCRA staff and current and outgoing board members. And a big thanks to everyone at !earshot for a nice wrap-up party. Phog was the perfect place to end off such a great week.

Leave a Reply

