Moving on. Or at least sideways. Maybe parallel?

Import from MySpace and Facebook

After nearly 6 years of working with the National Campus and Community Radio Association (NCRA), I have decided that it is time for me to move on out. It is a decision that was not easy for me to come to, as this job has been a labour of love for me, but is time for my path to break off from that of the NCRA. (Although, I’m pretty sure our paths will be running side by side and in full view of each other for a little while longer yet!)

I’ll be leaving at the end of March 2008. In the meantime, the NCRA will hire a more traditional executive director (focused on someone with a strong proven track record in administration and fundraising). Given the current financial resources of the NCRA, it is the right time for the association to bring in a heavy hitter — someone who is fresh and has a a solid track record. If you or someone you know is interested, let me know, and I’ll make sure you/they get a copy of any job postings.

I have worked with some amazing people over these years, and I have done a lot I can be proud of:

  • I was originally hired to create and maintain a music-oriented project, and “Dig Your Roots” was born.
  • I established a strong and vital national office for the association.
  • I helped build a stronger and larger membership.
  • I helped to raise the internal and public profile of the association.
  • I have helped to establish a national community radio fund.
  • I have been able to attend 6 national conferences and meet a lot of amazing delegates, sit on some great panels, and attend some great !earshot parties!
  • I’ve also learned a lot about a great many things. Some of these things I’ve had to pick up myself, but for the most part, I’ve been able to learn from some really fantastic people. I think you know who you are, and I would not be that national coordinator that I am now without you.

Where to next? Honestly, that is still a question for me. There are a few paths for me to look down right now . . . perhaps working in government, in other non-profits, contracting myself as a consultant, or maybe going in a completely different direction and getting back into theatre. I could also go back to school, for either theatre, arts management, or something else that might advance my career. But if you know of any opportunities, let me know! 🙂

Leave a Reply

